Those popes who bear the name, "Pius," are the greatest guardians of the Church against heresy. This blog is a watchdog for modernism in the Church. In reality, outside this blog, the members of the board temper their criticisms and opinions with prudence and charity so as to help souls in their journey towards Christ. But sometimes, for the sake of their own sanity, the authors of this blog just need to blow off some steam. The result is Totus Pius.

15 June 2006

Pii Responsible for 42% of Church Doctors

St. Athanasius (296-373)- Declared Doctor in 1568 by St. Pius V
St. Hilary of Poitiers (315-367)- 1851 by Bl. Pius IX
St. Gregory of Nasianzus (325-389)- 1568 by St. Pius V
St. Basil the Great (329-379)- 1568 by St. Pius V
St. John Chrysostom (347-407)- 1568 by St. Pius V
St. Bernard of Clairvaux (1090-1153)- 1830 by Pius VIII
St. Anthony of Padua (1195-1231)- 1946 by Ven. Pius XII
St. Albert the Great (1206-1280)- 1931 by Pius XI
The Doctor of the Church (1226-1274)- 1567 by St. Pius V
St. Peter Canisius (1521-1597)- 1925 by Pius XI
St. John of the Cross (1542-1591)- 1926 by Pius XI
St. Robert Bellarmine (1542-1621)- 1931 by Pius XI
St. Francis de Sales (1567-1622)- 1871 by Bl. Pius IX
St. Alphonsis Ligori (1696-1787)- 1871 by Bl. Pius IX

That's 14 out of 33 Doctors.

No comments: